Open Call

The STARTS yearly competition is back to award two innovative projects at the nexus of science, technology and the arts that have what it takes to make a significant impact on economic and social innovation. Two prizes, each with €20,000 prize money, are offered to honor innovative projects at the intersection of science, technology and the arts: The emphasis of both prizes lies on the creative appropriation and employment of technologies as well as the search for unique constellations of collaboration from the STARTS fields.

Grand Prize – Innovative Collaboration

Honors innovative collaboration between industry or technology and the artistic (and creative) sectors that open up new avenues for innovation.

Grand Prize – Artistic Exploration

Honors artistic research and works whose adoption by the arts has great potential to influence or change the use, application, or perception of technology.

Winners will be prominently featured at Ars Electronica and other events of the consortium partners BOZAR, Waag, INOVA+, T6 Ecosystems, French Tech Grande Provence and Frankfurter Buchmesse. Check the submission and evaluation timetable below:

January 11, 2022Submission phase for the STARTS Prize 2022 starts
March 2, 2022Submission deadline
March 14, 2022Extended deadline
April 23 – 25, 2022Jury Meeting
13 June, 2022Announcement of winners
September 7-11, 2022Exhibition and talks at Ars Electronica Festival